About Lev Burchalkin

L.D. Burchalkin was born on January 9, 1939 in Leningrad. At the age of 13 he was admitted to the children’s team under the Sports club «Bolshevik» which was not among the grand prise winners in Leningrad championship, but earned the fame of a «prickly» and uncompromising team; its players were also unyielding and competitive. This way the big football began for Lev Burchalkin. The future forwarder debuted as a central back in «Bolshevik» as he was the tallest in the team.

In early 1957, «Zenit» was looking for most promising trainees of the city football at the preseason get-together; a red-haired centre back by the name of Burchalkin was among them. The history of world football knows a number of cases when the players retrain from forwarders into backs, however successful inverse shifts can be counted on the hand. Even Burchalkin does not know who had the idea to redirect him to the line of attack, but by September 1957, when the young forwarder had his debut in the first team, he had already managed to demonstrate exceptional bombardier’s qualities, scoring almost in every match.

The seventeen-year-old Lev Burchalkin debuted in the line of attack of «Zenit» on September 15, 1957. In «Zenit», Burchalkin stood out from the start not only by his red hair, but also due to his gift of scoring the decider. Petersburg fans even called him «Burchalkin-Vyruchalkin». Actually, he was called «Vyruchalkin» (come-to-help) mainly by the journalists. The spectators in the grandstands called him just «Leva»!

In 1962 and 1963 the dark/light blue-white players often collected a capacity crowd at the 100-thousand-seat stadium; one of the leaders of the team was Master of Sports (from 1961) Lev Burchalkin. The forwarder, constantly aiming to attack, never sparing his forces, was incredibly popular in Leningrad.

In May and June 1964, he played two matches for the USSR Olympic team. In the decisive games against the select team of GDR, Burchalkin replaced the injured captain of the team, Valery Lobanovsky from Kiev, at the left wing of the attack.

A bit earlier, on May 20, 1964 in Moscow, Lev Burchalkin had a debut in USSR national team in a combat with the Uruguayans (1:0). That match for the USSR collected team was the Leningrad forwarder’s sole match of that kind.

Within 16 seasons of Lev Burchalkin’s playing for «Zenit», not a single generation of his partners changed.

It seemed, the destiny had prepared for Lev the role of coach of his home team in the future. However, this did not happen: the first team in his coaching career was «Luch» in Vladivostok – Lev Burchalkin trained it from 1973 to 1976.

In 1977, he was appointed administrator of «Dinamo» (Leningrad), and Lev Dmitrievich was cut off from the coaching work. After studying at High Coaching School, Burchalkin worked as a state coach of collected teams in Leningrad.

In 1982, he was invited again to work with «Luch» as a coach, and Burchalkin spent another 4 seasons in Vladivostok. And further he had probably the most exotic period in his coaching career – for two years he was a coach of one of the Maldives clubs!

At the end of 1987-1989, Burchalkin worked within a new coaching staff of «Zenit». In 1990, he moved to Karaganda for two seasons (1990-1991) where he became a chief coach of the local «Shakhter».

In 1992, a new invitation to Vladivostok came. The return was sensational: in 1992, «Luch» supervised by him won convincingly a zonal tournament in the first Russian league and won a ticket to the premier league for the first time in its history.

In 1993, Lev Dmitrievich was appointed coach of Petersburg «Locomotiv» and let it win a ticket to the second league in a tough fight.

In 1995, a new invitation to Vladivostok followed, and Burchalkin again became the chief coach of «Luch» that played in the first league of the championship of Russia. In that season, the Vladivostok team showed its best result, playing in the first league, and Burchalkin was invited to the coaching staff of «Zenit» that returned to the premier league.

From 1996, Lev Dmitrievich’s coaching work was inextricably linked with the home club. In 1996-1997, he was one of the coaches of «Zenit» with Pavel Sadyrin. From 1998, he headed «Zenit-2». The season of 2002 in fact was failed; the team played weakly, although the coach worked at full capacity, with little or no rest, as earlier in the «Zenit» attack line.

Lev DmitrievichBurchalkin achieved people’s true love in his native city where he was literally doted. He has been a cult figure of St. Petersburg football, and many of his achievements (16 seasons in «Zenit» (1957 to 1972) where he was captain of the team for 8 years; the recognised «Zenit»’s leading scorer 5 times; 400 games played and 78 goals scored in championships) forever entered the history of the Russian football. This person not so long ago was worshipped by the fans who yelled «Burchalkin!» in unison at the crowded grandstands of the one-hundred-thousand-seats S.M. Kirov stadium.

The legendary Leningrad footballer, the honoured coach of Russia, Companion of II-category Order «For Merit to the Fatherland», L.D. Burchalkin died after an extended illness on September 7, 2004 in St. Petersburg. In September 2006, the Football Club «Zenit» inaugurated a monument to the outstanding forwarder on his grave at the Seraphim Cemetery.

О Льве Бурчалкине

Л.Д. Бурчалкин родился 9 января 1939 года в Ленинграде. В возрасте 13-ти лет был зачислен в детскую команду СК «Большевик», который в чемпионате Ленинграда в число грандов не входил, но заслужил славу «колючего» и неуступчивого коллектива, такими же неуступчивыми, боевитыми, были и его игроки. Так для Льва Бурчалкина начался большой футбол. В «Большевике» будущий форвард дебютировал в качестве центрального защитника, так как был самым рослым в команде.

В начале 1957 года «Зенит» на предсезонном сборе просматривал самых перспективных воспитанников городского футбола, был среди них и рыжеволосый центральный защитник по фамилии Бурчалкин. История мирового футбола знает много случаев, когда игроки из форвардов переквалифицируются в защитников, а вот удачные обратные перестановки можно пересчитать по пальцам. Даже сам Бурчалкин не знает, у кого возникла идея перевести его в линию атаки, но к сентябрю 1957 года, когда состоялся дебют юного форварда в основном составе, он уже успел проявить незаурядные бомбардирские качества, забивая почти в каждом матче.

Семнадцатилетний Лев Бурчалкин дебютировал в линии нападения «Зенита» 15 сентября 1957 года. В «Зените» Бурчалкин с первых шагов выделялся не только рыжей шевелюрой, но и даром решающего гола. Питерские болельщики даже прозвали его «Бурчалкин-Выручалкин». Правда, «Выручалкиным» его называли в основном журналисты. Зрители на трибунах называли его просто — «Лева»!

В 1962 и 1963 годах сине-бело-голубые частенько собирали аншлаги на 100-тысячном стадионе, а одним из лидеров коллектива стал мастер спорта (с 1961 года) Лев Бурчалкин. Постоянно нацеленный на атаку, никогда не щадящий своих сил форвард был сказочно популярен в Ленинграде.

В мае-июне 1964 года он сыграл два матча за олимпийскую сборную СССР. В решающих играх против сборной ГДР Бурчалкин заменил на левом фланге атаки травмированного капитана команды, киевлянина Валерия Лобановского.

А чуть раньше, 20 мая 1964 года, в Москве состоялся дебют Льва Бурчалкина в национальной команде СССР в поединке с уругвайцами (1:0). Этот матч за главную сборную СССР так и остался у ленинградского форварда единственным.

За 16 сезонов Льва Бурчалкина в «Зените» сменилось не одно поколение его партнеров. Казалось, самой судьбой ему уготована в будущем роль тренера родной команды. Однако не сложилось: первой командой в его тренерской карьере стал Владивостокский «Луч», который Лев Бурчалкин тренировал с 1973 по 1976 год.

В 1977 году он был назначен начальником команды «Динамо» (Ленинград), Лев Дмитриевич был оторван от тренерской работы. После учебы в Высшей школе тренеров Бурчалкин работал в должности государственного тренера сборных команд по Ленинграду.

В 1982 году его опять приглашают поработать тренером «Луча» и Бурчалкин проводит еще 4 сезона во Владивостоке. А потом у него был, пожалуй, самый экзотический период в тренерской карьере — он на два года стал тренером одного из клубов с Мальдивских островов!

В конце 1987-1989 годах Бурчалкин входил в новый тренерский штаб «Зенита». А в 1990 году он на два сезона (1990-1991) уехал в Караганду, где стал главным тренером местного «Шахтера».

В 1992 последовало новое приглашение во Владивосток. Возвращение получилось сенсационным: в 1992 году руководимый им «Луч» убедительно выиграл зональный турнир в первой российской лиге и впервые в своей истории завоевал путевку в высшую.

В 1993 Лев Дмитриевич принимает петербургский «Локомотив» и в условиях жесточайшей борьбы завоевывает с ним путевку во вторую лигу

В 1995 году последовало новое приглашение во Владивосток и Бурчалкин вновь стал главным тренером «Луча», выступавшего в первой лиге чемпионата России. В том сезоне команда из Владивостока показала свой лучший результат за время выступления в первой лиге, а Бурчалкина пригласили в тренерский штаб вернувшегося в «вышку» «Зенита».

С 1996 года тренерская деятельность Льва Дмитриевича практически неразрывно была связана с родным клубом. В 1996-1997 годах он — один из тренеров «Зенита» Павла Садырина. Начиная с 1998 года, он возглавлял «Зенит-2». Сезон 2002 года был откровенно неудачным, команда провела его слабо, хотя тренер трудился с полной отдачей, практически без отдыха, как прежде в атаке «Зенита».

Лев Дмитриевич Бурчалкин добился поистине народной любви в родном городе, где в нем буквально души не чаяли. Он был и остаётся культовой фигурой для питерского футбола, а многие из его достижений (16 сезонов за «Зенит» (с 1957 по 1972), из которых 8 лет он был капитаном команды, 5 раз становился лучшим бомбардиром «Зенита», 400 сыгранных матчей и 78 забитых голов в чемпионате) навечно вошли в историю Российского футбола. Тем, кому совсем недавно переполненные трибуны стотысячного стадиона имени С.М. Кирова в едином порыве выдыхали: «Бурчалкин!»

Легендарный ленинградский футболист, заслуженный тренер России, кавалер ордена «За заслуги перед Отечеством» II степени Л.Д. Бурчалкин скончался после продолжительной болезни 7 сентября 2004 года в Санкт-Петербурге. В сентябре 2006 года на Серафимовском кладбище футбольный клуб «Зенит» открыл памятник на могиле выдающегося форварда.